Press ? for help

Standard

“Anything invented before your fifteenth birthday is the order of nature. That’s how it should be. Anything invented between your 15th and 35th birthday is new and exciting, and you might get a career there. Anything invented after that day, however, is against nature and should be prohibited.” Douglas Adams (author of The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy)

code scanLast night my 4-year-old taught me what to do with those bar code looking picture things on adverts.  See, I don’t even know what they are called and seeing as my phone doesn’t have a camera or even predictive text for that matter, I am not sure I will be reaping the benefits of this advertising tool in the near future.

I am the last of the technophobes, I don’t own an i anything, no pod, no pad, no phone. I’m not sure I could work them if I did own them – oh yeah I could ask one of my 2 year olds to teach me.  They already try to change screens on the laptop by touching the screen; very annoying and more importantly how on earth do they know touch screen technology?  Not from our luddite house, that’s for sure.

Remember when you watched with wonder sci-fi on the tv as a kid?

Wow wouldn’t it be amazing if we could see the person we were talking to on the phone?  Wow.

Imagine if we could walk around and talk to someone on the phone without being attached to a cable. Wow

Imagine if we could talk into a watch? hmmm

Imagine if we could be transported to a different place?

WOW

OK so maybe the last one isn’t possible (yet) but wouldn’t it be cool if it was?  I could nip home to visit whenever I felt like it.  Bye bye budget travel, not nice knowing you.

Thinking about all these new gadgets and how they literally used to be the stuff of science fiction brought to mind that old BBC classic, Blake’s 7.   In short it was a low-budget sci-fi drama whose main characters were Blake, Avon, Jenna, Vila, Cally, Gan and Zen the computer. Hmmm, yes, says it all really. I wanted to be Cally (?) Cally I also used to colour my soda stream lemonade with food dye as their blue and green drinks looked exotic. I remember it seeming terribly hi-tech at the time – take a look now, not so much 

With only two weeks to go until B day, NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO, I have to add become more techno savvy to my list of things to do before 40.  The fact you are reading this is in itself a miracle (of course it could be just myself I am amusing).

Actually, is there anybody out there?

11 responses »

  1. You can’t blame your age for this one, mate. I’m not so far behind you, yet I’m typing this on my ipad, and I use those ‘bar code looking picture things’ to set homework for the kids at school. My year 10 class and I also have our own website and blog (http://year10a.weebly.com/, if you’re interested…). I also controlled my school computer using my iPhone as a remote mouse last week; kind of pointless but amusing nonetheless…

    Get caught up before you have to go to one of those ‘computing for old people’ classes where they have to show you where the on button is…

  2. QR codes aren’t “bar code looking picture things”, they actually are bar codes, just a 2D version (as opposed to the 1D bar codes you’ll be used to) that was originally designed for the quick processing of car parts. 😉

    The company that created them, Denso-Wave, holds the patent, but they’ve opened the format up for the rest of the world to use.

    • You see, I am a luddite – although I’ve since googled them and feel better than I am now wiser! Thanks for the info, I am slowly achieving my before 40 goals!

  3. Tell me you don’t put pen to paper and write your blog posts there first and then re-type it into the computer??? The iphone is really easy to use – although apparently other android devices are available. Check me out I am so technically savvy. (don’t ask me what an android device is though, haven’t a clue) but I do sound somewhat like I know what I am talking about thats the key I reckon, if you can’t make it fake it!
    I’m just off to the gym so got to go and find my walkman now!

    • I reckon its lack of interest on my part! I have never been interested in anything gadget wise but these days I am just getting left behind. Now if you want to know about VOD technology and broadcasting I am your girl – have to know it for my job – anything personal though – I know nothing!! Is your walkman still with cassettes?!

Leave a Reply

